Heathcote golf

By McIvor Times

A TOTAL of 94 men and 14 ladies took part in a stroke event on Saturday, May 4 at the Axedale Golf Club which was sponsored by Bendigo Wound Management.

Men’s event

In division one, for handicaps of 0-13, the winner was Lex Johnstone (68 gross, 1 h/c, 67 nett). The runner-up was Peter Williamson (79 gross, 10 h/c, 69 nett) on a countback from Andrew Schaeche (79 gross, 10 h/c, 69 nett).

In division two, for handicaps of 14-18, the winner was David Baillie (83 gross, 17 h/c, 66 nett). The runner-up was Brian Retallick (81 gross, 14 h/c, 67 nett) on a countback from Wayne Mildren (82 gross, 15 h/c, 67 nett).

In division three, for handicaps of 19-22, the winner was Eric Rogers (88 gross, 20 h/c, 68 nett), on a countback from Jim Long (87 gross, 19 h/c, 68 nett). Third place went to John Torney (90 gross, 21 h/c, 69 nett).

In division four, for handicaps of 23-36, the winner was David Yum (91 gross, 23 h/c, 68 nett). The runner-up was John Geldart (92 gross, 23 h/c, 69 nett). Third place went to Robert Perkins (102 gross, 32 h/c, 70 nett).

Ball winners: John Miller 68, Fred Dijkman 69, Max Kettle 70, Craig Lee 70, Ian Martin 70 and Bill Andrea 70.

Ladies event

In the ladies event, for handicaps of 0-29, the division one winner was Di Wenzlau (95 gross, 21 h/c, 74 nett) on a countback from Ruth Iser (86 gross, 12 h/c, 74 nett).

In the ladies event, for handicaps of 30-45, the division one winner was Therese Lynch (105 gross, 36 h/c, 69 nett). The runner-up was Megan McPherson (109 gross, 32 h/c, 77 nett).

Nearest the pins

1st hole — division one: A. Schaeche; division two: A. Watson.

2nd shot, 3rd hole — division one: Lex Johnstone; division two: Alan Clements.

6th hole — open: Peter Elvey.

16th hole Superpin — entries — Robin Minne.

18th hole — division one: Glenn Laity; division two: Brendan James.

Other highlights

Mens Monthly Medal Winner: David Baillie 66.

Best Gross: Lex Johnstone 68.

KO Results: Peter Stringer defeated Russell McGibbon 3/1.

Birdie Ball: Paul Pyke 18th.

ON THURSDAY, May 2, 55 men took part in a stableford event at the Axedale Golf Club. The event was sponsored by Central Trophies and Gifts.

In division one (0-15) the winner was Colin Green (8 h/c, 43 nett). The runner-up was Steven Lee (11 h/c, 39 nett). Third place went to Peter Elvey (14 h/c, 37 nett).

In division two (19-21), the winner was Brian Edwards (19 h/c, 40 nett). The runner-up was Eric Rogers (20 h/c, 36 nett). Third place went to Len Rodda (19 h/c, 35 nett).

In division three (22-36), the winner was Phil Harris (31 h/c, 47 nett). The runner-up was Ian Kerr (27 h/c, 37 nett). Third place went to Brian Fry (29 h/c, 36 nett).

Ball winners: David Lubke 35, Andy Watson 35, Cam Cowled 35, Phil Brookes 35, Martin Skahill 34, and Ernie Lowndes 34 (on a countback).

Nearest the pins:

1st hole — division one: Dennis Higgins; division two: Eric Rogers.

3rd hole, 2nd shot — division one: Paul Pyke; division two: Len Rodda.

6th hole — open: Mark Kesper.

18th hole — division one: Paul Pyke; division two: No winner — jackpot.

17th hole Presidential Longest Putt: Mick Purdon.

Encouragement Award: Division one: Robin Minne; division two: Don Leversha (countback); division three: David Yum.

Birdie Ball: Paul Pyke 18th, Mark Kesper 6th.

Monthly Trophy Qualifier: Phil Harris.