Open season

By Shepparton News

The Victorian duck hunting season opens this weekend for a shorter period than in previous years.

This year’s season closes on Sunday, May 19.

There will be a single start time across the whole of Victoria for the opening — tomorrow’s shoot starts at 9am with hunting starting at 8am on Sunday.

For the rest of the season, hunting times will be the standard 30 minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes after sunset.

Permitted areas

Goulburn-Murray Water has said hunting is permitted at Cairn Curran Reservoir, Hume Reservoir, Tullaroop Reservoir, Lake Eppalock, Laanecoorie Reservoir, Greens Lake, Lake Eildon, Lake Buffalo, Waranga Basin, Lake Charm, Kangaroo Lake, Racecourse Lake, Lake Nillahcootie, Lake Nagambie and Goulburn Weir.

G-MW dams operations manager Scott Wikman said maps were available on the website

‘‘Areas where shooting is prohibited have also been expanded at Lake Nagambie for the 2019 season, so it is important prospective hunters check this information on the G-MW website,’’ he said.

Mr Wikman also reminded duck hunters:

●Private property can adjoin G-MW land, waterways and storages, so hunters needed to seek the consent of landholders to hunt or pass through their private property;

●Duck hunting is not allowed along the G-MW channel network at any time;

●The use of firearms and hunting in public recreational areas and around storage assets is prohibited;

●There are warnings for blue-green algae at Cairn Curran Reservoir, Lake Eppalock and Waranga Basin.

The Game Management Authority has issued modified bag limits: there is a daily bag limit of four game ducks per day on the opening weekend, with a five game duck per day bag limit for the rest of the season.

Seven of the eight species of game duck can be hunted this season.

They are: pacific black duck, mountain duck, chestnut teal, grey teal, pink-eared duck, wood duck and hardhead.

The hunting of the blue-winged shoveler will be prohibited this season.

For more information, go to