Rich River Golf report

By Riverine Herald

Rich River


Tuesday, March 5

Leslie Chafer had no problem with repetitive friction as he finished with an outstanding 46 stableford points to claim the round of the day and B grade.

Mick Young was solid in winning A grade and Laurie Phillips turned the screws on the C grade field to finish with 44 points.

In all, 169 golfers played the east course with 40 points on countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Mick Young (43), 2nd: Peter Anderson (41 C/B), 3rd: Des Gallagher (41 C/B).

B grade: 1st: Leslie Chafer (46), 2nd: Keith Jenkinson (45), 3rd: Bruce Rasmussen (43).

C grade: 1st: Laurie Phillips (44), 2nd: Dean Zadow (41), 3rd: Stephen Slater (40 C/B).

NTPs: 3rd – Steve Manley, Leslie Chafer and Laurie Phillips. 8th – Robin Minne, Bruce Rasmussen and John Moore. 13th – Mick Young, Jeff Carnie and Paddy Carton. 16th – Peter Hoskin, Cliff Schindler and John Moore.

Eagles: 5th – Gary Bennett, 11th – Keith Jenkinson.

Super-pin: Bruce Rasmussen ($128).

Thursday, March 7

Thursdays par event saw the exceptional golf from Tuesday continue.

In the eyes of Odin, Bruce Rasmussen can do no wrong as he easily accounted for the B grade field after collecting the super-pin two days earlier.

Ken Lambert was exemplary in A grade and Michael Butler did it in C grade.

In all, 182 golfers played the east course with +2 on countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Ken Lambert (+6), 2nd: Mark Stephens (+5), 3rd: Ian Doak (+4 C/B).

B grade: 1st: Bruce Rasmussen (+6), 2nd: Shayne Trigwell (+4 C/B), 3rd: Joop Flokstra (+4 C/B).

C grade: 1st: Michael Butler (+4), 2nd: Christopher Hinchliffe (+3 C/B), 3rd: Geoffrey Strachan (+3 C/B).

NTPs: 3rd – Ian Doak, Joop Flokstra and John Moore. 8th – Robin Quinn, Steven O’Burtill and Doug Biggs. 13th – Michael Taylor and Len Adams. 16th – David Pearson, Roman Lewandowski and Ken Rice.

Eagle: 11th – David Pearson, 18th – Ian Doak.

Super-pin: Steven O’Burtill ($149).

Saturday, March 9

The four-ball stableford competition held extra significance as the top two teams would gain a place in the Champions of the Murray event held at Cobram Barooga Golf Club in May.

Lawrie West and Robert Vick claimed second on countback to earn a place at the all-expenses paid trip, whilst Chris Jennings will certainly have his hands full ensuring his fellow victorious partner, Craig Bessell, doesn’t overindulge and take his eyes off the upcoming bigger prize.

In all, 172 played the east course with 44 on a countback winning a voucher.

Overall winners: 1st: Chris Jennings and Craig Bessell (47), 2nd: Lawrie West and Robert Vick (46 C/B), 3rd: Keith Jenkinson and Kevin Segota (46 C/B).

NTPs: 3rd – Adam Nolan, John Devitt and Neil Orchard. 8th – William Bayles, Tristan Nevin and Richard Jaworski. 13th – Kevin Saillard, James Hodgens and Bob Young. 16th – Colin Masenhelder, Neil Haw and John Bennett.

Eagles: 5th – Bradley Ward.

Super-pin: Richard Jaworski ($161).

Wednesday, March 13h

The qualifying round of the “Champions of the Murray” was played on the east course.

Results: 1st: Karen Evans and Noeline King (46), 2nd: Sue Jasch and Jennifer Boek (43 C/B), 3rd: Vicki Shipp and Lesley Mitchell (43).

NTPs: A – Gloria Bennett, B – Anna Nicholas-Martin, C – Ingrid Cockroft.

Super-pin: Barbara Sands.

Second shot: Bernie Smith.

Saturday, March 9

A ladies 4BBB stableford was played in beautiful golfing conditions.

Results: 1st: Fiona Simpson and Heather Gunstone (45), 2nd: Judy Cook and Nola Bennett (43), 3rd: Karen (Fitzy) Fitzgerald and Liz McKinlay (42 C/B).

NTPs: A – Joy Kelly, B – Sue Jenkinson.

Super-pin: Maxine Aitken.

Ladies please note the next swaggers competition is at Numurkah on Friday, March 22.

Call Lyn Bailey for further details.

Back Nine

Men’s A: 1st: David Kirkpatrick (23pts).

Women’s A: 1st: J. Kirkpatrick (23pts).

Men’s B: 1st: Steve Clover (13pts).

Men’s NTPs: 6th – B. Scott.

Women’s NTPs: 4th – J. Kirkman, 6th – J. Kirkpatrick.

Men’s Straightest Drive: D. Kirkpatrick.

Women’s Straightest Drive: L. Lachin.