Benalla Hockey Club — Round 8

By Benalla Ensign

Benalla Hockey Club — Round 8


B-grade men

Benalla played the Strikers in a high-scoring game of great skill and persistence. Strong team dynamic saw goals spread across the group.

Benalla won 8-4.

Goals: Evan Dowe 2, Daniel Trevaskis 2, Latham Carroll, Robert Dean, Marty Gillies, Nick Nowland.

Best and Fairest umpire votes: Evan Dowe 3, Marty Gillies 2, Thomas Hill 1.

B-grade women

The Benalla Women played the Strikers, and were missing some key players and forward firepower in their clash.

Struggling to penetrate in attack as the Strikers defended confidently, a number of positional changes in the second half allowed for better attack, though the forwards continued to struggle to score.

Benalla goalkeeper Prue White defended strongly in the circle, inner Sarah Farley found space and generated excellent pace on the ball, while Lee Manning and Sharon Watkins accelerated across the mid-field, pressing the play forward.

Benalla lost 0-3

Best and Fairest umpire votes: Prue White 3, Sarah Farley 2, Heidi Perry 1.


Under-16 combination team (Benalla/SYC/Strikers)

Benalla’s Under-16 players performed strongly against Mooroopna. With scores level 1-1 at half time, with Alex Dowe scoring the goal, the final result ended in a draw, 3-3.


The Under-12s played Echuca in a goalless first quarter where both teams battled hard in defence.

In the second quarter the Tigers pushed forward with great team work, but with a number of chances, couldn’t convert.

Amber Armstrong was rock solid in defence, while Noah and Ollie Gillies pushed hard with Seth into attack, though Echuca were able to score through the gaps in defence.

In the third quarter the Tigers threatened to score a number of times, with Zac eventually scoring to even the game.

Greater defending and attacking in the final quarter from Ollie, Noah and Seth toward goal helped Warick convert with a touch, with Noah following up with another to seal the win.

Benalla won 3-1.

Best and Fairest umpire votes: Seth Hately 3, Zac Fennell 2, Oliver Gillies 1.

Jason and Gail donated a cash award, which was won by Zac Fennell.


Benalla Tigers defended well in the first quarter against a strong Mooroopna side.

Bella, Zander, Angus and Jai held Mooroopna to one goal.

In the second quarter Jack, Lily and Xavier pressured hard in attack, while the third quarter was also tight with both sides playing well.

Ultimately Benalla ran away with the game in the final quarter with goals from Angus, Jai and Lily.

Benalla won 4-2.

U10 Hollywood’s spectator award went to new player Bella Hately for a strong first game.