Golf report

By Benalla Ensign


Last Friday 12 members had a working bee to remove two tree limbs from the fairway which came down earlier in the week.

In no time at all the fairway was cleaned up and ready for play on Saturday.

The club would like to thank all those who helped.

On Saturday the 2019 Medal of Medals was held, with Xavier Palamarczuk emerging as the winner.

Also on Saturday, the Benalla Waste Player of the Month award for January was won by Colin McFarlane.

The ‘‘losers box’’ was drawn and the lucky winners were Laurie Morgan, Sue Oakley, Joanne Martin and Andrea Haskell.

Results: February 2

A good field of 71 players competed in the monthly Stroke event. The Ray White Monthly Medal and A-grade winner was Bruce Reid with a score of 70 net. Runner up was Bob Hutchieson with 72 net. Mick Levy won B-grade on a count back from Eric Hoolihan with both scoring 71 net. Ray Jensen won C-grade with 71 net, while Nathan Delaney was runner up with 72 net.

Nearest the pins

1st Olivers Mensland: Gary O’Brien.

3rd Crothers’ Joinery: Eric Hoolihan.

8th Srixon/Golf Shop: Gary O’Brien.

12th Ray White: Barry Wright

13th Spalding/Golf Shop: Chris Keast.

KFC Birdies: Trevor Squires, Sam Morrell, Steve Thomas.

Ball Competition

72 Blair Ferguson, Gary O’Brien, Graham Squires, Graeme Sykes, Barry Wright,

73 Brendan Booker, Peter Bridgfoot, Chris Keast, Terry Meagher, Anthony Mennan, Xavier Palamarczuk, Steve Smith, 74 Brett Dosser c/b

Results: January 30

A storm on Wednesday morning caused the abandonment of the mornings play, however, by midday conditions had improved allowing 23 players to compete in a Stableford event. The winner for the day was Captain Bob Munro with 41 points. Runner-up with 40 points was Tony Williams.

Nearest the pins

3rd Golf Shop: Reg Symes.

8th Golf Shop: Mark Henwood.

12th Ray White: Garry Smith.

13th Fruits ‘n’ Fare: Graeme Budd.

Ball Competition

38 Graham Briggs, 36 Garry Henry, Garry Smith and John Spencer.

Ken Muir won the inaugural “marshmellow” award.

A stableford event will be held this Saturday.

Women’s golf

A hardy group of golfers played through the heat to produce these results in the women’s golf this week:

Thursday, January 24, the stableford winner was Lauri Morgan with 40 points.

NTP Milner-Watson Pharmacy 8th S. Oakley, Ray White 12th S. Oakley, Golf Shop 13th M. Watson.

Saturday, January 26, the stableford winner was Hazel Briggs with 37 points.

On Thursday, January 31, a stableford round was played with 14 players.

The division one winner was Anne Thomson with 38 points, while the division two winner was Lynn Symes with 34 points.

Ball competition H. Crilly 37, H. Briggs 33, J. Rubira 33.

NTP 3rd and 12th H. Briggs, 8th and 13th H. Crilly, 14th M. Watson.

A stableford round was played on Saturday, February 2, with 15 players.

Division one winner was Jackie Rubira with 38 points, while the division two winner was Catherine Warnock with 46 points.

Ball competition M. Watson 35, H. Briggs 35, E. Madden 34.

NTP 3rd L. Morgan, 8th M. Cowan, 12th and 13th M. Watson, 14th A. Thomson.

This week a stroke round with Monthly Medal will be played on Thursday and a stableford round on Saturday.

The final round of the Chicken Run will be played on Tuesday, February 12, and Opening Day is on Thursday, February 14, with a teams of three scramble.