74 takes regional tournament

April 26, 2018

40 years of membership certificate holders Bryan Wearne, Joyce Safstrom, Barbara Black, Dorothy McGillivray, Marlene Hendy and Mayor Margaret O'Rourke.

The winners of the Golf Central Victoria Mixed Pinehurst Foursomes Stephanie Wearne and Mitchell Hogg of Heathcote Golf Club with a score of 74.

E. W. Green trophy winners on Saturday were (l-r) Tristen Wearne, Adrian Goudie, John Dunn and Carol Stuart

HEATHCOTE Golf Club hosted the Golf Central Victoria District Mixed Pinehurst Championships as well as their 90th anniversary events on Saturday.

A ceremonial golf cart race over the old racecourse track commenced the day’s festivities.

Mitchell Hogg and Stephanie Wearne posted the best gross score of 74 from runners-up Adrian Goudie and Tristen Wearne on 76. Carol Stuart and John Dunn were best in the nett with 80-11 1/8 68 7/8 from Kent Davies and Molly McLean 77-5 1/4 - 71 3/4.

Carol Stuart and John Dunn (68 7/8) also teamed with Adrian Goudie and Tristen Wearne (70 3/4) to be the E W Green perpetual trophy winners with a team nett score of 139 5/8.

Ball winners were: John McGillivray and Chelsea Wearne 85-12-73; David and Jenni Bilkey (Bendigo Golf Club) 77-4 1/8-72 7/8; and Kerry Scales and Fred Kath (Axedale Golf Club) 81-6 3/4 - 74 1/4.

A huge vote of thanks goes to the volunteers that made Saturday so successful — to Bryan Wearne and his crew for their excellent organisation; the ladies for their delicious sandwiches and cakes; and to those responsible for presenting the course (especially the greens) in the best possible condition. A great day was had by all.

■ THE pennant ladies played Neangar Park No3 team at Axedale on Monday, April 16.

The team halved the match 2 and 1/2 wins each. The two Dots (McGillivray and Trott) continued their good form with solid wins; Helen Carlin halved but Carol Stuart and Cathy Shaddock lost. The ladies maintain top spot on the ladder and their next match is not for several weeks.

Wednesday April 18:

The ladies played a stableford competition on Wednesday last. Margaret Sims posted the best score of 33 points with Dawn Hudson runner-up on 31 points. It was lovely to see both Doreen Schiele and Georgie Joyson back on the course and playing 18 holes. Georgie finished in style with NTP on the 18th hole.

Dot Trott and Helen Carlin played a singles knockout match and the tussle went all the way to the 18th hole with Dot prevailing 2 up. Another hard-fought match was between Daphne Hall and Cathy Shaddock with Daphne emerging victorious 3/2.

Thursday April 19:

Thirty-five men including 10 visitors vied for the stableford event trophies on Thursday, but the visitors swept all before them. Brad Evorall (Bendigo Golf Club) took out division one with 38 points and Michael Chilcott from Axedale also posted 38 points to win division two. Ball winners were: Tony Hunter 36, Adrian King 36, John Blundell 35, Terry Shiels 35, Paul Rolfe 35 and Kent Davies 35. Birdie balls went to John Blundell (16th) and par balls to Terry Shiels and Michael Chilcott (18th). On the 18th hole Mick Taylor won A grade NTP and superpin and David Baldock was closest in B grade.

Coming events:

Wednesday April 25: Anzac Day stableford hit-off time of 12.30pm.

Thursday April 26: Open stableford.

Saturday April 28: Qualifying round mixed pairs knockout. Stableford aggregate (own partners).

More in The McIvor Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text