Golf report

February 23, 2018

A TOTAL of 68 men and 18 ladies took part in a 4BBB Stableford event at the Axedale Golf Club on Saturday February 17. The event was sponsored by Bendigo Party Hire.

Men’s event

Division one

The division one winners were decided on a countback, with the honours going to Rob Taylor (13 h/c) and Kevin Crawford (17 h/c) with a score of 48 points.

The runners-up, also on a countback, were Steve Lee (11 h/c) and Geoff Waldron (32 h/c), who finished with a score of 48 points.

Third place went to Craig Lee (14 h/c) and Kerry Moore (28 h/c), 48 points.

Fourth place was awarded to Russell McGibbon (19 h/c) and Geoff Williams (19 h/c), with 47 points.

Ball winners:

John Randles/Peter Williamson (46 on a countback); David Ivey/ Vik Sabaliauskas (46 on a countback); and Peter Hoskin/Rob Minne (46 also on a countback).

Ladies event

In the ladies event, the division one winners were Annette Holmes and Jan Walklate on 47 nett.

Ball winners in the ladies were Kerry Scales and Pam Davies (45 on a countback).

Nearest the pins:

1st hole — division one: Wayne Mildren; division two: Mandy Hamilton.

2nd shot, 3rd hole — division one: Sam Bilardi; division two: Maureen Connelly.

6th hole — open: Raye Fleay.

16th hole Super pin: John Torney.

18th hole — division one: Stu McGibbon; division two: Greg Hamilton.

Other highlights:

Birdie Balls: Steven Lee (18th hole).

■ A TOTAL of 58 men took part in a stroke event at the Axedale Golf Club on Thursday February 15. The event was sponsored by Paul Powell Golf Tuition.

In division one, for handicaps of 0-15, the winner was Tom Phelan (76 gross, 11 h/c, 65 nett). The runner-up was David Baillie (83 gross, 15 h/c, 68 nett) on a countback from Peter Williamson (78 gross, 10 h/c, 68 nett).

In division two, for handicaps of 16-22, the winner was Peter Thomas (84 gross, 20 h/c, 64 nett) on a countback from Craig Shewell (83 gross, 19 h/c, 64 nett). Third place was decided on a countback and went to John Geldart (87 gross, 20 h/c, 67 nett).

In division three, for handicaps of 23-36, the winner was David Turner (90 gross, 33 h/c, 57 nett). The runner-up was Greg Hamilton (88 gross, 23 h/c, 65 nett), while third place went to Frank Harrop (100 gross, 34 h/c, 66 nett).

Ball winners: Phil Luke (67), Bill Andrea (67), John McCullagh (68); Peter Andrew (69), Paul Pyke (70), and Ernie Lowndes (70) on a countback.

Nearest the pins:

1st hole division one: Robin Minne; division two: Phil Luke.

3rd hole, 2nd shot division one: Denis Higgins; division two: Craig Shewell.

6th hole open: Noel Holmes.

18th hole division one: Paul Lethlean; division two: David Turner.

Longest Drive: Eric Rogers.

Longest Putt: Greg Hamilton.

Encouragement Award division one: Robin Minne; division two: David Yum; division three: Jeff Trewick.

More in The McIvor Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text