Pyke takes out stableford event on countback

January 19, 2018

A TOTAL of 55 men played a stableford event at the Axedale Golf Club on Thursday, sponsored by Carley Advisory Services.

In first division (for handicaps of 0-16) the winner was Paul Pyke (8 h/c, 41 points) on a countback from Brian Retallick (15 h/c, 41 points). Third place was also decided on a countback, and went to Peter Richardson (14 h/c, 40 points).

In division two (for handicaps of 17-23) the winner was Peter Andrew (20 h/c, 39 points). The runner-up was Mick Purdon (20 h/c, 37 points) on a countback from John Geldart (22 h/c, 37 points).

In division three (for handicaps of 24-36) the winner was Dennis Boden (24 h/c, 37 points) on a countback from Graeme Rooke (24 h/c, 37 points) also on a countback from Mark Kesper (28 h/c, 37 points).

Ball winners:

Fred Kath (40), Sam Bilardi (38), Liam Baillie (38), Eric Rogers (36), Andrew Watson (36) and Peter King (36 on a countback).

Nearest the pins:

1st hole – division one: Ian Logan; division two: Jeff Trewick.

3rd hole, 2nd shot – division one: David Baillie; division two: Eric Rogers.

6th hole – open: Dennis Boden.

18th hole – division one: Paul Pyke; division two: No winner - jackpots.

Longest drive: Robin Miller.

Longest putt: Len Rodda.

Encouragement award: Division one: Terry McManus.

Division two: Alan Clements.

Division three: Malcolm Bain.


Birdie ball:

Brian Retallick (6th).

Dennis Boden (12th).

Paul Pyke (18th).

The second round of the Summer Cup — a stableford event — was held on Saturday featuring 94 men and 17 ladies. The event was sponsored by Smartline – Ron Bradley.

Men’s event:

In division one the winner was Grant Lane (10 h/c, 41 nett) on a countback from Paul Pyke (7 h/c, 41 nett), while third place went to Allan Andrews (11 h/c, 39 nett).

In division two the winner was Warren Pollock (15 h/c, 42 nett). The runner-up was Peter King (17 h/c, 40 nett). Third place went to Ryan Fitzpatrick (16 h/c, 38 nett).

In division three the winner was Graeme Rooke (23 h/c, 40 nett). The runner-up was John Fitzpatrick (19 h/c, 39 nett), while third place was awarded to Peter Pannell (23 h/c, 38 nett).

In division four the winner was Robin Miller (30 h/c, 44 nett). The runner-up was Dennis Boden (24 h/c, 38 nett), while Graham Nielsen took out third place (32 h/c, 37 nett).

Ball winners:

David Ivey (38), Max Kettle (37), Alan Darby (37), Lindsay Budds (37), Garry Harrop (37) and Sam Bilardi (37 on a countback).

Ladies event:

In the ladies event, division one, the winner was Jeanette Comer (94 gross, 25 h/c, 69 nett). The runner-up was Linda Andrea (75 gross, 4 h/c, 71 nett).

In the ladies, division two, the winner was Lesley Poker (100 gross, 35 h/c, 65 nett). The runner-up was Dianne Wenzlau (101 gross, 29 h/c, 72 nett).

Nearest the pins:

1st hole – division one: Glenn Laity; division two: David Stephens.

3rd hole, 2nd shot – division one: Peter Williamson; division two: Wayne Blume.

6th hole – open: Ian Edwards.

16th hole – SuperPin (entries): Tony Strybosch.

18th hole – division one: Linda Andrea; division two: Stephen Jeffreys.

More in The McIvor Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text