Stroke event attracts 60 to Axedale Golf Club

September 22, 2017

William Andrea was the division one winner in the Axedale Golf Club stroke event last Thursday.

A TOTAL of 60 players took part in a stroke event at the Axedale Golf Club on Thursday. The event was sponsored by Carley Advisory Services.

In division one the winner was William Andrea (81 gross, 16 h/c, 65 nett). The runner-up was Sam Bilardi (80 gross, 14 h/c, 65 nett) while third place after a countback went to Andrew Watson (84 gross, 16 h/c, 68 nett).

In division two the winner was Len Rodda (84 gross, 19 h/c, 65 nett). The runner-up was Geoff Arundell (84 gross, 18 h/c, 66 nett), while third place went to Brian Keating (92 gross, 23 h/c, 69 nett) on a countback.

In division three the winner was Ernie Lowndes (91 gross, 24 h/c, 67 nett). Runner-up was Robert Perkins (97 gross, 28 h/c, 69 nett), from Brian Fry (100 gross, 29 h/c 71 nett) on a countback.

Ball winners: Rod Connelly 68, Rob Minnie 68, Stu McGibbon 68, Mick Purdon 69, John McCullagh 70 and Chris Phillips 70.

Nearest the pins:

1st hole division one: Rob Taylor; division two: Brian Keating.

2nd shot, 3rd hole division one: William Andrea; division two: Rick Manley. 6th hole — open: Garry Piggott. 18th hole — division one: Geoff Arundell; division two: Keith Hill.

Longest Drive: William Andrea.

Encouragement Award: division one: Rob Taylor; division two: Ken McMahon; division three: Phill Byrne; putting: Tony Lindrea.

Putting: Fred Kath 27 putts.

On Saturday, 87 men and 35 ladies took part in an Ambrose 2-person event, sponsored by Santons of Bendigo.

Mens Event:

eIn the mens, first prize went to Paul Pyke and Bill Andrea with a nett score of 61.25. Runners-up were Wayne Mildren and Rob Scott who scored 61.5 on a countback from Derek Higham and Doug Osborne, also on 61.5. Fourth place went to Rob Minne and Jeff Keely who had a nett score of 62. Fifth place was awarded to John Miller and Andrew McDougall who finished on 62.75 on a countback from Malcolm Bain and David Ivey, also on 62.75.

Ball winners were: Russell Cole and Eric Rogers 62.75; Brett Moore and John Neylon 63; Sheldon Carter and Glenn Laity 63.

Ladies Event:

The champagne winners in the ladies were Carol Mellington and Ruth Iser who scored 64.5, while the runners-up were Helen Lindrea and Lesley Poker who scored 64.5 on a countback.

Nearest the Pins:

First hole: Division one — Sam Bilardi; division two Pam Davies.

Sixth hole (open): Roz Briggs.

Sixteenth hole Superpin: Rod Jacobs.

Eighteenth hole: Division one Dennis Higgins; division two Alison Barrett.

More in The McIvor Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text