Celebration for Lions

July 13, 2017

Lions Club members and City of Greater Bendigo councillors gathered at the Heathcote Bowling Club for the Lions Club's annual changeover dinner.

THE LIONS Club of Heathcote was in celebration mode recently when it conducted its 46th annual changeover dinner at the Heathcote Bowling Club.

The night, which included celebrations of 100 years of Lions, saw over 50 Lions members and family in attendance.

Members from Bendigo, Strathfieldsaye and Wandong-Wallan clubs were also at the event.

Special guests for the evening were City of Greater Bendigo mayor Margaret O’Rourke and councillor Yvonne Wrigglesworth.

Outgoing president Greg Speirs thanked guests for their attendance and highlighted some projects from his two years in the role.

“Some highlights include an upgrade of the Lions Playground, the O’Keefe Rail Trail Shelter, our monthly bush markets and successful trial of the night market,” he said.

“Also this year, we’ve been working with council to install more seating in High St as part of the Heathcote Lions Club Centennial Project. It is hoped the seats will be installed in the next few weeks.”

Mr Speirs wished the incoming executive all the best for the coming year and thanked all members, partners and friends of Lions for their continued support.

He also presented female members of the club with a Lions Club of Heathcote Centenary Award in appreciation of their contribution over the years.

Incoming president Lorraine Speirs congratulated Mr Speirs on the many projects achieved during his term in the top job.

She also thanked and congratulated the outgoing executive on their performance and said she hoped the incoming executive have a successful year.

“Hopefully we can encourage some new members to assist with our many and varied projects throughout the community,” she said.

Installation of the office bearers for 2017/18 was conducted by district governor Naga Sundararajah.

The new office bearers are:

President – Lorraine Speirs

Vice-President – Frank Dailey

Secretary – Daryl Dedman

Treasurer – Daryl Wallace.

More in The McIvor Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text