Hudson cleans up on the golf course

April 21, 2017

Daphne Hall (pictured) with Helen Carlin won 5/3 from Dot McGillivray/Maree Gastin.

FIVE ladies played a stableford event at Heathcote Golf Club on Wednesday with Dawn Hudson compiling an impressive 38 points for a comfortable win.

Dawn completed a clean sweep with the NTP on the 8th hole.

The remaining competitors played 4-ball knockout matches. Daphne Hall/Helen Carlin won 5/3 from Dot McGillivray/Maree Gastin and Carol Stuart/Lynne Fouracre won 4/3 against Marlene Hendy/Faye Lyall.

Congratulations to all of the winners on the day, but a well-deserved special mention must be made to Faye Lyall for her gallant single-handed effort against two good players who are at the top of their game.

Twenty-four players contested Thursday’s stroke event with Adrian King winning his thirrd successive trophy taking out division one with 80-12-68 on a countback. Well played, Adrian.

John Dobie was the division two winner with 96-26-70. The ball winners were Mitchell Hogg 68, Kris Mueck 69, Paul Rolfe 70, Brian Wearne 70 and Phil Coleman 71.

Birdie balls went to Adrian King (2nd), Kris Mueck (8th) and Adrian King and Kris Mueck on the 13th. Phil Thomas won a par ball and Kris Mueck eagled the 6th on his way to a 64 gross.

18th hole NTP winners were Brian Wearne (A grade and superpin), David Baldock (B grade) and Paul Wintle (C grade).

Martin Sims won the encouragement award and a new member Basil Kapoulesa was welcomed to the club.

On Good Friday, the club hosted the Roman Middleton fundraising charity day.

Organised by Allisyn and David Clouston, the very successful event attracted a field of 120+ golfers.

Clear winners in the 4-person ambrose with a fantastic nett score of 521/4 were Daniel and Bryce Pianta, Heidi Pianta-Cook and Kelly Cauallano.

In second place was the team comprised of Bill King, Adrian Goudie, Terri Ring and David Ellenby with 541/2.

In third place was the team comprised of Sonny Middleton, Phil Coleman, Ewen Middleton and Chris Norris on 553/8.

In fourth place was the team consisting of Carol Stuart, Helen Carlin, Daphne Hall and John Dunn with 555/8.

And coming in fifth place with a very creditable score of 553/4 were Lynne Fouracre, Jan Case, Cathy Shaddock and June Roberts.

While the ladies field for the 4BBB stableford event on Saturday may have been small, it was all class.

Margaret Sims and Dawn Hudson posted 47pts but only just outlasted the team of Dot Trot and Sue Green on 46 points.

The ladies were running hot with Margaret Sims chipping in on the 5th and Sue Green twice holing from off the green including a birdie on the 15th for a big 5pts. Sue also took out NTP on the 8th.

In Saturday’s men’s 4BBB stableford event, Ron Blachford and Ian Furneaux eclipsed the field of 22 finishing on 48pts.

Runners-up were Nick Sidoti (playing his first competition) and John Dunn on 44pts. Ball winners were Adrian King/Brian Davis 42 and Larry Maxwell/Mitchell Hogg 42.

NTPs went to Gerard Ellis (13th), John Dunn (16th) and on the 18th hole: Alan Stobaus (B grade) and Murray Green (C grade and superpin).

Gerard Ellis and David Clouston both scored birdies on the 13th.

Pennant results:

On Monday April 10, the Heathcote Golf Club ladies pennant team hosted Neangar Park No3 and scored a 2-1 win.

Carol Stuart won 5/3, Helen Carlin won 2/1 and Regina Driver lost by the narrowest of margins on the 18th.

The mens pennant team played away at Kyneton and were also successful, winning 3/2. Congratulations to all players.

Thank You:

The Heathcote Golf Club wishes to extend a big thank you to Daniel Pianta for donating the Srixon golf bag that he won on Good Friday back to the club.

The bag and a Bendigo Jockey Club voucher that was kindly donated by Greg Long will be raffled over the next few weeks along with a number of bottles of wine.

Coming Events:

Today: Ladies stroke and 2nd round of singles knockout.

Tomorrow: Men’s stableford.

Saturday, April 22: Stableford aggregate and qualifying round for mixed match play

Saturday, April 29: Stableford aggregate and qualifying round for mens pairs match play (brought forward from June 17).

More in The McIvor Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text